Culpeper Star-Exponent: House passes Spanberger bill to honor U.S. service members killed in Kabul attack


The U.S. House of Representatives voted unanimously Monday night to pass legislation Rep. Abigail Spanberger cosponsored to recognize the 13 U.S. service members killed during an August terrorist attack at the airport in Kabul, Afghanistan.

If passed by the Senate and signed by the president, the legislation would posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to Staff Sgt. Darin Taylor Hoover, Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole Gee, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan Page, Cpl. Humberto Sanchez, Cpl. David Lee Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, Hospitalman Maxton Soviak and Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss.

“Those who paid the ultimate sacrifice during the final days of the U.S. military mission in Afghanistan were heroes,” Spanberger said in a statement Tuesday. “They risked everything to help American citizens and our Afghan allies evacuate the country — and they deserve nothing less than the strong recognition they are owed for their valor. … This Congressional Gold Medal would mean so much to their loved ones, their brothers and sisters in the military, and the American communities they volunteered to protect and serve.”

The Virginia lawmaker, a Democrat, expressed happiness at seeing her colleagues demonstrate unity as they approved the bipartisan legislation in the service members’ honor.

The Congressional Gold Medal is the law-making body’s “highest expression of national appreciation for distinguished achievements and contributions,” according to the House historian.

The bill was led by Rep. Lisa McClain, R-Mich.

“I’m proud the House passed my bill that would award the Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 brave men and women who were taken far too soon,” McClain said. “… I urge the Senate to quickly pass this bill so we can properly honor these fallen service members.”

To read the bill, click here.

The 13 service members “exemplified extreme bravery and valor against armed enemy combatants” and “dedicated their lives and their heroism deserves great honor,” the bill states.

The legislation acknowledges the Aug. 26 attack was one of recent years’ deadliest days for U.S. service members.

The service members were working to evacuate American citizens, troops and Afghans from the Kabul airport after the Taliban seized control of Afghanistan’s government. The Islamic State militant group (ISIS-K) later claimed credit for the attack.

Recent Posts

Feb 23, 2024
Local Issues

Spanberger, Garbarino Lead Bipartisan Bill to Track & Report Tick Bite-Associated Condition, Alpha-Gal Syndrome

The Congresswoman’s “Recognize AGS Act” Would Direct HHS to Make Alpha-Gal Syndrome a Nationally Notifiable Disease WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Representatives Abigail Spanberger (D-VA-07) and Andrew R. Garbarino (R-NY-02) introduced bipartisan legislation to allow for greater monitoring and reporting of alpha-gal syndrome (AGS) cases by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Alpha-gal syndrome […]

Feb 22, 2024

Spanberger Urges Health Insurers to Fully Cover Birth Control, As Required by the Affordable Care Act

This Effort Comes After Years of Systemic Noncompliance by Insurance Plans & Women Paying Out of Pocket or Facing Administrative Red Tape to Access Birth Control WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Representative Abigail Spanberger today joined more than 150 U.S. House and U.S. Senate colleagues in urging health insurers to improve access to birth control by […]

Feb 21, 2024

Spanberger Announces Sixth Annual Congressional Art Competition, Invites Virginia High School Students to Submit Artwork

The Winner’s Artwork Will Be Displayed in the U.S. Capitol Building for One Year Alongside Winners from All 50 States WOODBRIDGE, Va. — U.S. Representative Abigail Spanberger today invited high school students from Virginia’s Seventh District to submit original artwork for the annual Congressional Art Competition. Every year, Members of the U.S. House of Representatives […]